Nursing Research: what's different?

What's different about research for nursing students?

  • Your research is very specialized, so the resources you choose must likewise be very specialized. 
  • You'll find the research you do in nursing school to be much more difficult than what previous college courses have required of you.
  • It's really important. Lives will depend upon you learning how to find reputable, reliable information and apply what you learn appropriately.
All Items by Source

Books

STAT!Ref Online Medical Database Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video
Provides full-text access to more than 80 full-length professional books on a variety of topics in health, including nursing, surgery, treatments, diseases and conditions. Allows researchers to search for specific topics and issues within these titles.
 
note: Log in using your MyLC credentials

Journals/Magazines

CINAHL Restricted Resource Some full text available
In addition to full text nursing and allied health articles, CINAHL provides access to evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons, health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters, and more.  With coverage including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and additional allied health disciplines, CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a powerful research tool for the nursing and allied health fields.
note: Log in using your MyLC credentials.
PubMed for Lee College students Restricted Resource Some full text available
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from Lee College resources, PubMed Central, and publisher web sites.
note: Log in using your MyLC credentials

Test Prep

Learning Express Restricted Resource Some full text available
Find multiple practice tests for the NCLEX-RN and NCLEX-PN here!
note: In addition to logging in with your MyLC credentials, you'll need to create a Learning Express account to take practice tests and read test prep books.
Testing and Education Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
NCLEX practice tests and an NCLEX-PN prep book are available here, as well as preparation for nursing school entrance tests.
note: In addition to logging in with your MyLC credentials, you'll need to create an account in TERC in order to take practice tests or read test prep books.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jeannie Colson

Jeannie Colson
Distance Learning Librarian & Campus Copyright Advisor
Tel: (281) 425-

NCLEX resources
Book Search
Search: In:
Comments or suggestions?
Talkback Unrestricted Resource
Talkback to us! Ask questions or make suggestions.